Awakenings

At the turn of this New Year, I have been thinking a lot about awakening: awakening of the spirit, awakening of the mind, awakening of the heart. One element in me that needs awakening is my Pagan self. When I saw the call for the Pagan Blog Project I knew I had to jump onboard. What a great, and fated, opportunity for me to get in touch with my spirituality and both learn and share knowledge with a likeminded community. I have been a practicing Pagan for at least fifteen years, but I would consider myself to be somewhat closeted. I share my faith with friends and family, but it tends to stop there. It’s time to awaken my Pagan spirit. I love that this awakening in me coincided with this blog project, and I am eager to see where it takes everyone involved.

I live in Houston, Texas, where it is quite hot and rather humid almost nine months of the year. January is a beautiful month here, and is a time when I open all the windows and allow the fresh air to come in and awaken the house. I love letting the outside come in and breathe into my space. Many people experience this awakening in the spring, but here it happens in the winter, and in connection with the New Year. It is cleansing to awaken your house with fresh air. Whether you do it in January or May it is an important ritual that should never be ignored.

As a dance professor and artistic director of a small contemporary dance company I constantly have to work with a very high level of creativity. I love that, and I worked very hard to obtain this dream job, but I have to always work on ways to awaken and stimulate my second chakra. The second chakra is the center for sexual energy, creativity, and pure emotions. In my constant development of this chakra sexuality and emotions come with the creativity, but that’s a blog for a different day… For now, I’m simply stating that I have to constantly awaken my second chakra in order to do the work I am called to do. Sometimes being creative actually becomes a chore, and this is a dangerous place for someone in a creative profession. It helps me to constantly perform exercises that stimulate this chakra. Again, I could discuss individual charkas at great length, but I will also save that for later. And of course one cannot focus solely on one charka at the exclusion of the other six, or you will be in a chaotic world of imbalance. I am working on awakening my second charka, what charka in you could be awakened?

Finally, I recognize that it is time to awaken my human compassion and understanding. Sometimes we lose sight of that and get caught up in our personal problems and viewpoints. For me, it is time to focus on finding ways to get in touch with being a more compassionate soul. Don’t get me wrong, I am a basically nice person, and I am intrinsically happy, but I find myself losing patience with those closest to me. Why is that? Why do we tend to hurt the ones we love? In my attempt to answer that question I figure I can start with awakening my capacity for compassion. Hopefully this can lead to a better understanding of humanity in general, and help me to not lose patience with those I dearly love.

It’s the start of a new year, a great time for awakenings. We all have things in us that need awakening, which brings me to the question- What needs awakening in you?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sally at OKIFOLKI
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 02:12:07

    Hi there! I came across your blog via the PBP and really enjoyed your post. Looking forward to seeing how your awakenings pan out this year. 🙂

    Personally, I am hoping to awaken the fire within. I’m naturally a very watery person and most of my fire gets extinguished very quickly. Wishing us both success in our challenges ahead! 🙂

    Reply

  2. lalaknowseverthing
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 02:14:28

    I dont know much about chakras but i do relate to the thinking of awakening certain things in your life. I could use an awakening of both patience and my need for quiet time/relaxing/meditation. I burn my candle at both ends and sometimes in the middle too. I like thinking of it this way instead of the traditional “resolutions”. No one ever makes it past january with those!

    Reply

  3. Celticawitch
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 02:20:47

    Very thoughtful post, with some great questions to be answered, not just by you nut by all of us. A bit of advice – be still, be mindful and compassion will follow. Great post.
    Blessings
    Deep~Glade

    Reply

  4. Ivy
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 04:11:39

    I love this time of awakening, too! I’m in California and it’s 85 degrees today, but I can still see the small little buds on the trees. I feel this awakening feeling around Imbolc, as the earth begins her awakening, so will I. Wonderful post!

    Reply

  5. Michele
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 07:16:07

    You have given me much to think about. Thank you.

    Reply

  6. Kourtney
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 04:01:36

    Oh a Dancer!! A dancer who is a Pagan even! Me too!! I loved you post about your creativity and how sometimes you can end up blocked and it becomes a chore. I can totally relate. Loved the post!

    Kourtney
    http://paganpagesbloghop.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

