Moon in Capricorn

I love astrology. It’s definitely the metaphysical/pagan area I have spent the most time with (well, that and crystal/precious stone work). For those not so familiar with astrology, here’s a basic lesson. The bulk of our personality does not come from our sun sign alone. Instead it consists of a trinity or our sun sign, our ascendant or rising sign, and our moon sign. The rest of our astrological make up comes from where the planets fall in our chart and the relationship of the planets to one another.

My main point of that is simply one’s moon sign is very important. As children we often act more like our moon sign rather than our sun sign, and that was the case for me.

So I want to discuss my moon sign, which is Capricorn. It has actually taken me a long time to come to terms with this because my moon sign is in pretty major conflict with my sun sign, which is Gemini. Gemini’s are communicative and adaptable. They are curious and want to know a little bit about everything rather than devote themselves to one topic. Duality is the heart of the Gemini. We usually want everything to come in multiples (funny story, when my husband offers me something, like a cookie, he usually gives me two, one for me and my Gemini twin). This also surfaces in me regarding decisions. It is very difficult for me to make simple decisions, like choosing a color for something. I will also rarely declare something as my favorite because it’s very difficult for me to pick an ultimate favorite anything. I have to have multiple favorites.

Gemini’s are restless and always on the go, often leaving a trail of unfinished business behind them. We are persuasive and develop firm opinions on everything. Gemini’s can be superficial, and someone once told me that Gemini’s lie like they breathe. But Gemini’s are also versatile, witty, outgoing, and usually fun to be around.

Compare that to the aspects of the moon in Capricorn. These people are determined, responsible, patient, disciplined, and committed. They are also rigid, pessimistic, opinionated, materialistic, and over-exacting. Here is where we see the crux of my internal struggle. My sun is in this bright, bubbly, social sign while my moon is in a solitary, contemplative, determined sign.

To further complicate matters, your moon sign represents the emotional, sympathetic side of your personality. Of course Capricorn is a very unemotional sign, and sure enough, I have a pretty rigid, tough side. I often refer to my cold, robot heart and was thrilled when I found a tee-shirt that says “this shirt hides my cold robot interior”. My Gemini side likes to battle this constantly, leaving me to swing from one extreme to the other in regards to emotional conflict. One moment my cold robot heart is in control, then next my empathetic side takes over.

Capricorn moons are also loners while Gemini suns are very social. Ack! More conflict which constantly materializes in my life. I struggle all the time with wanting to go out versus wanting to just stay home. And even with my Gemini gift of gab I have come to hate going out to bars where I have to sit around talking to people. I usually prefer to stay at home and work on a jewelry project. Or, have the people come to me, where I can sit around talking while making something at the same time.

I will say that my Capricorn moon has given me a pretty fierce determination and gives me extreme discipline. But, ol’ Gemini makes sure this discipline only comes in waves. I can stay amazingly focused for long periods of time until Gemini steps in to say hey, don’t you remember that nice pile of shiny things over there?

Something interesting I uncovered about Capricorn moons, they tend not to find true love in youth but rather take their time and usually find a strong life mate. In my youth, I must admit I loved the boys. I flitted about many relationships but they always fizzled out. I had a couple pretty serious ones, and those men were fantastic, but I was young, and the time was not right. So what did I do? I fell in love with my close friend when I was 27. We were married at a Rainbow Gathering seven years ago, have been together romantically for ten years, and we have known each other for sixteen years! How’s that for a little later in life true love. Sure, 27 is hardly old, but I do feel that my sense of a committed, lifelong relationship came in the waning of my youth.

Really I could go on and on pointing out all the major differences and conflict between my Gemini sun and my Capricorn moon, but what’s essential is this combination is what makes me, me. Astrology really helps me make sense of myself and is an amazingly powerful tool. If you have not spent any time with it I highly recommend you do so. Just start by figuring out your sun, moon, and rising sign. Looking into the relationships between those three should provide you with some pretty stunning insight about yourself.

And before I go, to add to my astrological conflict, my rising sign is Sagittarius, the sign that sits in polar opposition to Gemini…..oh dear.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Franchesca Guerrero (@CuteChesca)
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 12:57:43

    I am also Gemini with moon in capricorn but rising in cancer. Interesting post, I have many of the same issues. Thanks.

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 11:59:19

    Great post! I too go through the same things…

    Reply

  3. Stacey
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 12:20:56

    This was a great read, thanks. I am a Leo with Capricorn Moon and Rising and have only just started looking into it. Explains why I don’t always feel like a Leo!

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 04:36:59

    This will sound like a joke- but it isn’t… I am a Gemini sun, Cap moon, Sag rising too… Your Venus would not happen to be in Taurus is it?

    Reply

    • chinacat27
      Oct 26, 2014 @ 08:58:41

      Wow- I will have to check about Venus. I don’t remember off the top of my head, and my chart is in a box since we recently moved. Let me take a look and get back to you 🙂

      Reply

  5. Yanyan
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 07:58:20

    I have the same placements!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

