Solitary

I am a solitary person. I do a lot of things alone, and I am very comfortable with myself and spending time with no one but me. I think a lot of this stems from being an only child until I was twelve.  On top of being an only, I didn’t even have any cousins or relatives near my age. So when we went to family gatherings I was the only child. All my cousins were either way older or way younger than me.

I was great at playing by myself. I did have a lot of friends, but of course there were many times when I was alone with my imagination. My solitary childhood has made me able to always entertain myself, and be quite comfortable with being completely alone for long periods of time. But, my lack of brothers and sisters made me really terrible at sharing, and I like to get my way. I never had to go through sibling negotiations over toys or food or whatever, it was just me so I never had to worry about it.

Of course this solitude has bled over to my magical practices. I’m about as solitary as it gets. So much so that I have my own very specific brand of religion, which I like to call New Meganism. I have undertaken all my spiritual studies and journeys completely alone, although I am in touch with those close to me. And occasionally someone will work with me or ask advice. My husband sometimes joins in on a little magic and he’s very open to the whole alternative religion thing. My parents are also very supportive, and my mom really likes it when I make her magical jewelry. That is, jewelry created to aid her with a physical or emotional issue.  When I am back in Arizona, my mom, dad, and brother pleasantly tolerate my metaphysical shopping trips to Sedona, but we don’t all go back to the house and work magic together.

On a side note, I am so blessed to have such a supportive family. I renounced Christianity pretty hard and heavy in my teens, going so far as to drop out of confirmation classes and stop going to church all together. And I was lucky to grow up in the Christian church that I did. It was Episcopal, and very open to differing thoughts and ideals. In my early teens I remember taking a sex ed course through our church. Hearing sex ex and church used together is enough to make one shudder, but this class was amazingly progressive. It did not preach abstinence and save it for marriage. Rather, it taught that sex is a very big deal and you need to do it with someone you love and respect, and you need to protect yourself. Wow- that was pretty hip for church sex ed in the 1980’s. So, thank you parents for not taking me to scary church, and thank you for letting me find and define my own unique brand of religion. And thank you for finally allowing me to not go to church on Christmas eve….

My point? That I like my solitary practices very much. I am open to finding others to work with, but I am comfortable with being alone with my religion and myself. I am trying to branch out into my community more, and I am excited to see where that takes me.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jim Lasher
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 04:09:12

    Wonderful. I have enjoyed reading all your blogs, and will continue to do so.
    Your Father

    Reply

  2. Kourtney
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 23:12:33

    There is something special about creating a path uniquely your own. You are responsible for it. It is up to you to move it forward. For some that may just be too much, for others its exactly what they need.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

