White Tara

Back in the days of “G” I wrote about the Green Tara. In that post I discussed the Taras in general, and mentioned that I would come back to the White Tara when we got all the way to “W”….and here we are!

Rather than rehashing the details of the Taras, I have linked to that post so if you’re curious you can check it out. In this post I would like to simply focus on the White Tara, and the particular aspects she helps with.

The White Tara is part of a longevity trio with Buddha Amitayus and Namgyalma. This trio assists us with overcoming karmic obstacles, serious danger, and unexpected threats to our life. Overall, the White Tara is very much a protector, and she is a great relief in times of need and extreme strife. But she also helps watch over us on a day-to-day basis, and is a guardian angel of sorts.

She is depicted with her right hand in the mudra of extreme generosity. She has three eyes on her face and an eye on the palms of her hands and the soles of her feet. These seven eyes enable her to see all beings in all the realms of existence.

The White Tara is very effective when called upon for physical healing and life threatening obstacles. She can also be called upon for someone else. That is, you can evoke her on behalf of a sick friend.

The Taras as a whole represent extreme compassion, while the White Tara is particularly effective for day to day problems, intervening to prevent untimely death, helping people recover from illness both physical and mental, and assisting with over coming obstacles. I see her as the ultimate mother figure, and it brings me comfort to know she is watching over me. I seem to actually have a few of these mother goddesses in my life, the Green Tara and the Virgin of Guadalupe being the two who complete my little trinity. I guess I just like the comfort, serenity, and protection they provide.

Leave a Reply

