Just blog about it

My heart is breaking, and I don’t know what to do, so I guess I’ll blog about it.

I was awoken this morning by a tree service asking me to move my car. They were working on a tree in my neighbor’s yard. A big, beautiful, easily over 100 year old live oak. When I went to move the car I asked if they were trimming it or removing it. Removing it. Oh my god. How could my neighbor do such a thing? The tree is not harming the house in any way. I’m just sick. I’ve been crying for almost two hours now.

I’ve had it with short sided people, and I’ve had it with people who have completely lost their connection to the natural world. People who have lived surrounded by concrete for so long they can no longer feel the earth… and its trees.

That tree completely shaded our driveway. It dropped giant acorns in the fall that would crunch under my feet. I’d find the really big ones and give them to the cat, who loves to bat them around the house. It was so big I could stare into its branches when I was laying in the backyard.

I’m just sick. And openly weeping at my desk. There’s nothing I can do to save that ancient soul. Believe me, I did consider all options, including chaining myself to it, if for no reason other than to drive home the point that my neighbor is a murderer. But the end result in that could easily be my arrest, and what good would that do.

So I’m taking it out in writing. Most of the followers of this blog came from the Pagan Blog Project, so I think I have some sympathetic and understanding ears out there. Not many people can grasp why I would be crying all morning over a tree.

I am an empath, and I can feel the sadness of the tree. I can feel its slow death. I can feel it crying with me.

Goodbye old friend. Friend who has been here longer than all the people in this city. Friend who has been here longer than many man-made structures in this city. I’m so sorry my neighbor has no reverence for your majesty. All I can do is say goodbye.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sterling
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 00:38:15

    I’m sorry, honey. That is so sad and so many people don’t realize the rippling harm caused by destroying those old beings. You might want to make a fairy house for her spirit. We had a trapped earth spirit in our townhouse and that is a fate I wouldn’t wish on anything. Love you!
    Sterling

    Reply

  2. Cin
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 00:58:05

    ~hugs~ 😦 So sad.

    Reply

  3. chinacat27
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 01:35:45

    Thanks friends! That’s good info, Sterling. I like the idea of the fairy house combined with some sort of memorial tree shrine. I wanted to do that using part of the tree, but by the time I got home every scrap of the tree was completely gone. When Andy came home before me he said they were using a leaf blower to clean up every last bit of that amazing tree. Hopefully that tree spirit moves in with the neighbor who killed her.

    Reply

  4. okarnill
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 20:24:44

    Ah I’ve found it! I remember this coming into my email inbox, intending to reply and then accidentally deleting the mail.

    I heard your pain with this post, so many of our beautiful trees have been destroyed, in our village a very old Yew tree was cut down – overnight – and before a preservation order could be put on it the following day, to ‘make more room for parking’

    It breaks my heart too

    How are you doing nowadays?

    Reply

    • chinacat27
      Dec 31, 2013 @ 11:44:21

      Thanks for your love! I still miss that tree, and have had a strong yearning to live closer to nature. However, all is good, and I will find ways to get closer to Gaia.

      Reply

  5. Lee
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 22:16:50

    My total and absolute sympathies. Some people just don’t get it. People would rather clear skies than a tree to clean after, little do they know the life, wisdom and deep sould they are destroying. Blessings to you.

    Reply

  6. pinkiepie4ever999
    Feb 08, 2014 @ 12:33:59

    I know how u feel just recently I went to Redwood National park and Sequoia National park. For a moment I could stare up in the sky and see branches porches up above me, no electronics, or gadgets, just Mother Nature 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

